Are You Smarter Than a Rapping Street Preacher Named “Enlitement”?

I love the bible and I love game shows.  Put them together and what do you get?

Jeff Foxworthy adds a nice side of redneck as well.

I think the questions are at the perfect level of difficulty- not too easy that it’s boring, but not too hard that it isn’t fun.  Sometimes I know the answer and the contestants don’t, sometimes it’s the other way around.

The teams of three contestants usually consist of the white, rural type, unlike the “City Takers”, a group of rapping street preachers with the names “Scott Free”, “Double”, and “Enlitement”.  I had a hard time believing the white guy was like…serious.  (But…I think he is…)

 

The City Takers were able to hold their own enough to get into the final round, where they take turns for one minute answering a series of questions on a given topic.  The topic of the day was “Egypt”.  Easy enough!  Anyone who has seen The Prince of Egypt and Joseph King of Dreams should be able to answer at least a few questions, right?  So let’s see how you do!

The questions are listed here.  See how many you know.  The answers follow.

  • What Egyptian River was turned to blood?
  • Name the official in Egypt to whom Joseph was sold.
  • What Egyptian was a slave to Sarah?
  • Whose bones were taken out of Egypt and buried in the promised land?
  • What was the fourth plague that infested Egypt?
  • The phrase “out of Egypt I called my son” is found in the book of what Old Testament prophet?
  • After interpreting Pharaoh’s dream, Joseph predicted what catastrophic event would occur in Egypt? 
  • Name one of the two sons born to Joseph while he was in Egypt.

Moses bringin’ down the house.

Answers:

  • What Egyptian River was turned to blood? The Nile.  This one was pretty obvious, right?
  • Name the official in Egypt to whom Joseph was sold.  Potiphar.
  • What Egyptian was a slave to Sarah? Hagar.
  • Whose bones were taken out of Egypt and buried in the promised land? Joseph.  I guessed this question wrong, I really thought it was Jacob, because I remembered him being buried in the land of Canaan in Genesis 50.  In the same chapter, it says that Joseph was put in a coffin in Egypt.  But I was wrong- Joshua 24 teaches that Joseph’s bones were taken out of Egypt and entered with the children of Israel into the promised land.
  • What was the fourth plague that infested Egypt? Flies!  I had no idea.
  • The phrase “out of Egypt I called my son” is found in the book of what Old Testament prophet? Hosea.  Again, I had no idea.
  • After interpreting Pharaoh’s dream, Joseph predicted what catastrophic event would occur in Egypt? A famine (or flood).
  • Name one of Joseph’s two sons born to him in Egypt.  Ephraim and Manasseh.

 

Here is how to interpret your results:

  • 7-8 correct: You are a bible scholar and must be recognized as an international scriptural authority.  
  • 5-6 correct: I can tell you were paying attention in seminary!
  • 3-4 correct:  Congratulations!  You have seen The Prince of Egypt and Joseph Kind of Dreams!
  • 1-2 correct: You know more about the bible than the City Takers!  That’s right, they didn’t get a single one right!
  • 0 correct: You have real potential as a hip hop reverend on the streets of the ATL.

 

I really don’t know how they didn’t manage to get a single one right.  I want to give them the benefit of the doubt and chalk it up to nerves, but, to be honest, I’m concerned.  While they claimed no formal scripture training or schooling, they are taking it upon themselves to be sharers and teachers of the bible and of Christianity.

I am not suggesting that a person needs to possess hoards of religious knowledge before they should open their mouths about God- I would consider it nearly sinful to make such a suggestion.  What I am suggesting is that most of us could probably take a good hard look at what we believe, why we believe it, and how prepared we are to share what we believe.

 

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to finish setting the Psalms to the meter of “Forgot About Dre”.

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

