Faith Flip Friday- 2 Peter 3:9

The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.

I have a new series, inspired by my good friend Gena Carpenter!  Every Friday I am going to do a “faith flip” and post my thoughts on where ever I land.  Today I faith flipped on my phone, but I think it worked out okay.

I wasn’t sure what “slack” or “slackness” meant in this context so I looked it up.  It means “lacking in diligence or due care or concern”.  This verse is teaching us that God is serious about the promises he makes to us.  Sometimes we as humans make commitments halfheartedly, but God makes commitment s with full intention.  He is prepared to stick to those promises and to stick with us.

I love the idea that God wants ALL people to repent.  He has not given up on anybody, regardless of our sins or our weak faith.  Every soul is precious to God, and he wants none of us to perish.  Also, I think that wanting everyone to repent includes people who have already repented.  It’s easy to get an “I’m saved, so I’m good” attitude.  We should seek Christ’s atonement every day of our lives.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

