Why I’m Not Standing With the Mormon Women

Today I was invited by a friend to “Like” a group called “Mormon Women Stand” on Facebook.  

“LDS Women who, without hesitation, sustain the Lord’s Prophet, the Family Proclamation as doctrine and our divine role as covenant women for Christ.”

It sounds harmless, right?  Mormon women supporting one another in a effort to defend and build the Lord’s kingdom?  Sign me up!The group’s description of itself is full of inspiring language:

“We love being LDS women and feel that our contributions to church, community, and family are both powerful and valuable.”

“As daughters of God, we understand our critical role in sanctifying marriage and participating in the majesty of bearing and raising children.”

I really appreciate the use of words like “powerful” and “majesty” in regards to women.  I feel that power is something that you have to decide for yourself you are going to have- nobody can give it to you, you just have to take it.

I agree wholeheartedly with every sentiment expressed by this group.  Their message is direct, powerful, and important.

But it is also divisive.

The Ordain Women campaign has received a lot of attention lately, and it seems that the vast majority of LDS women not only disagree with them, but resent them for claiming to represent them when they in fact feel very differently in regards to gender roles and the priesthood.  

Mormon Women Stand is the well-behaved Mormon girl’s response to the ruckus-causing feminists.  They don’t claim it, but they don’t have to.  This group, although it espouses traditional LDS principles, would not have existed even a year ago.

This group is positive, faith-promoting, and well-intentioned.

But it is, still, divisive.

I fear that two camps have formed among the sisters of the church- the priesthood-wanting testimony-lacking feminists and the complacent husband-worshiping housewives.  I stand with everything Mormon Women Stand believes, but I can’t stand with them.  I can’t choose sides. 

Ordain Women started controversy, but Mormon Women Stand started a fight.  It’s a fight I’m not going to be a part of.

And that’s why, this time, I’m not standing with the Mormon Women.

Tagged , , ,

9 thoughts on “Why I’m Not Standing With the Mormon Women

  1. chococatania says:

    I think that this is an interesting point of view. In fact, for the most part, I agree with you.

    (The only slight disagreement – I don’t know the true motives of the creation of this group. I think that the conclusion you draw might be correct, but I don’t really know. I assume it was a good intention, and I think that we should assume the same thing about the “Ordain Women” movement. I don’t think that either group is trying to be divisive. They each have legitimate concerns.)

    That being said, I agree with everything else you bring up – regardless of their intent, the group might be taken as divisive. Above all, I wonder – is it redundant? I mean, I’m a member of the Relief Society. Isn’t that “group” enough? I’m a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Isn’t that a stand?

    When Alma baptized the people in the Waters of Mormon, he taught them about their baptismal covenant: “…to stand as witnesses of God at all times, and in all things, and in all places that ye may be in, even until death,…” (Mosiah 18:9)

    So – yeah, I’m not joining the group either. I don’t need to. My membership in the church and commitment to Christ should speak for itself.

    Thanks for the thoughtful blog post. 🙂

    (Oh, and I love your idea to look up the google searches about Mormons, and then answer the questions. I might do the same on my blog, if you don’t mind!)

    • Please do the same on your blog! I’d be flattered. I’d be even MORE flattered if you wouldn’t mind giving my blog a quick mention. 😀

      Also, I agree that they are not trying to be divisive, that’s why i said somewhere in there that they are “well-intentioned”. 🙂 But I can see how the rest of my post doesn’t really reflect that.

      Awesome thoughts about your membership in the church being enough- I totally agree (at this point at least.)

  2. Chris says:

    “I fear that two camps have formed among the sisters of the church- the priesthood-wanting testimony-lacking feminists and the complacent husband-worshiping housewives.”

    My wife does not worship me, not even close, and she strongly opposes OW. I would venture to say nearly every LDS woman who stands in opposition to OW also doesn’t worship her husband and would be extremely offended you said they do.

    The fact you a. think this, and b. posited it as the mindset of those who oppose OW is not only extremely divisive all by itself but shows you have a very narrow, and very inaccurate view of LDS women who don’t stand with OW.

  3. Kate says:

    I appreciate that you’ve put thought into this topic, because it looks like too many people are just jumping to conclusions, one way or another. I think it’s sad and unfortunate that there can even be perceived sides to a topic like what it means to be a Relief Society sister and LDS woman. I have chosen to support “Mormon Women Stand” because I feel like they’re being very conscientious about simply supporting the Prophet and being clear that they are not against anything, which I’m all about. When it comes down to it, though, the most important thing we can do every day is put on the Whole Armor of God and try our very hardest to keep the commandments. If we choose to do anything else, support an organization, write a blog post, answer a question, it should be because that action brings us closer to the Savior. If it doesn’t, we’re doing it wrong. 🙂

  4. Juliet- I have given this a lot of thought. Ordain Women is clearly divisive. I can totally understand the resentment toward them because they claim to represent the sisters of the Church but they only truly represent a very vocal minority. But being so loud- it puts the rest of us in an interesting position. Do we just keep on living and kind of put it out of our minds and let their voice stand as the loudest? Do we raise our own voice to show there are other ways of looking at it and share our OWN experience so that we are not being represented by people who do not speak the truth in our own heart that we want to express and be understood? If we DO raise our own voice- how do we do that in a way that isn’t tainted with the flavor of opposition? It’s a tough thing to figure out.

    If OW is a divisive group- is it divisive to stand against their proclamations? Or is that how we find UNITY among the sisters by standing for what we DO believe in? Would the division be on OUR shoulders or on theirs? Both? What do you do then when a group stands up and declares a cause that you don’t believe in within the Church? I think the honest thing to do IS to take a side. Maybe this is one of those wheats and tares things that have been prophesied of.

  5. Michelle says:

    My initial impression of the Mormon Women Stand group was that of a group that wants to be identified particularly with supporting the Proclamation on the Family. I read into it more as a response to the gay-marriage issue, and didn’t even think about the Ordain Women movement, which is very much *not* on the radar in the area where I live.
    Anyway, I like it because it’s a way to openly support the Prophet and other church leaders, who certainly are facing plenty of opposition from many sources. If nothing else, it is a socially visible group to represent another view. I think it’s important not to be silent about what we do support.

  6. June aka G-ma says:

    You have every right to your premise, however I am reminded of the future in which we will be required to stand and be judged for the “stands” we made in our one chance at proving ourselves as daughters of God. I for one am not reluctant to stand with those who support the Lord’s living mouthpiece.

  7. Lindsey says:

    You bring up several good points, some of which I have struggled with myself. But I now see the OW as a disobeient group, especially since they went ahead and demonstrated even when the church leaders asked them not to. In times like this, it becomes necessary for us to choose a side! As the apostles teach, “There is no middle ground”. Either you support and follow the brethren’s council (and by so doing show your faithful trust in God), or you don’t (and become disobedient to God). I have decided that it is too dangerous to sympathize with this group as they continue to push their agenda on this topic.

  8. S says:

    I think you made the right choice. Feeling as many do about Ordain Women, I clicked on the “like” button, to show my support for church leaders. However, this week the theme of this group seemed to change into a blog of personal opinion. I was totally with them when they quoted Ensign and GC articles, but this week they had a writer who blogged about the evils of birth control and in a separate article, about why LDS women should not work. The author did not quote the church’s current policy for our time on birth control, which says, “Decisions about birth control and the consequences of those decisions rest solely with each married couple,” but did include a quote from previous LDS church policy which said, “it is contrary to the teachings of the Church to artificially curtail or prevent the birth of children. We believe that those who practice birth control will reap disappointment by and by.” The article also quoted misleading or incorrect information about oral contraceptives causing cancer and the pill’s carcinogenic characteristics. From my point of view, if this group were following the leaders of the church, they would not be giving advice on matters where the church does not give advice. Additionally, the tone of the article was disgracefully judgmental, with the title being “Choices Have Consequences.” I went ahead and “unliked” their page.

Leave a Reply

